Yin Yang

Based on classical Chinese philosophy and foundational in Chinese Traditional Medicine, the Yin Yang theory has evolved into an interesting concept that has many applications today. Usually the term is used to denote oppositely polar or opposite forces in nature, and the principle itself is that all things, characteristics or processes exist as inseparable and contradictory opposites, for example, woman-man, day-night, cold-heat.

Opposite Yin Yang characteristics:

Yin Yang
feminine masculine gender
black color White color
darkness shine
north south
water Fire
moon the sun
Earth sky
valleys the mountains
cold warmly
old young
passive active
poor rich
soft hard
even numbers (e.g. 6) odd numbers (e.g. 9)
peak of influence at winter solstice peak of influence at the summer solstice

If you look deeper into the concept of Yin Yang, you can understand that not only closely related characteristics, but also having a significant influence on each other, apply to it. The two opposites Yin and Yang attract and complement each other, and, as their symbol shows, each side is based on an element of the other (represented by an interspersed color of the opposite color). Neither pole is superior to the other, and since an increase in one leads to a corresponding decrease in the other, it is necessary to achieve the right balance between the two poles in order to achieve harmony.

Fig. 1 Yin Yang symbol

The earliest similarity to the Yin Yang symbol was found on the remains of various animals used in China for fortune telling and served as a simple indicator of natural phenomena (Yin symbolized night or the absence of sunlight; Yang represented day, or the absence of darkness). These oracle bones have been used since at least the 14th century BC. However, the earliest evidence of the Yin Yang symbol that has come down to us as we know it dates back to the 3rd century BC.

Following symbolism, the Yin Yang philosophy first appeared during the Han Dynasty and actually came into use during the Zhou Dynasty, when Yin Yang began to be associated with the concept of Qi - life energies. In fact, Yin Yang came to represent the complex duality of life and the overriding need for balance and moderation. This metaphysical worldview was used not only by Chinese philosophers such as Confucius and Lao Tzu to form their own religious and philosophical teachings, but also by Buddhists, Vedantists, yogis and doctors of traditional Chinese medicine.

And despite the increasing number of meanings and concepts created over time, the Yin Yang symbol rightfully remains fundamental and comprehensive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Инь Ян

Основанная на классической китайской философии и основополагающая в Китайской Традиционной Медицине, теория Инь Ян, превратилась в интересную концепцию, которая иметь множество применений и в наши дни. Обычно термин используется для обозначения разно полярных или противоположных сил в природе, а сам принцип состоит в том, что все вещи, характеристики или процессы существуют как неразделимые и противоречивые противоположности, например, женщина-мужчина, день-ночь, холод-тепло.

Противоположные характеристики Инь Ян:

Инь Ян
женский род мужской род
черный цвет белый цвет
тьма свет
север юг
вода огонь
луна солнце
земной шар небо
долины горы
холод тепло
старый молодой
пассивный активный
бедные богатый
мягкий жесткий
четные числа (например, 6) нечетные числа (например, 9)
пик влияния с зимним солнцестоянием пик влияния с летним солнцестоянием

Если разобраться более глубже в понятии Инь Ян, можно понять, что к нему относиться не только тесно связанные, но и имеющие значительное влияние друг на друга характеристики. Две противоположности Инь и Ян притягивают и дополняют друг друга, и, как показывает их символ, каждая сторона имеет в своей основе элемент другой (представлен вкраплением противоположного цвета). Ни один из полюсов не превосходит другой, и, поскольку увеличение одного приводит к соответствующему уменьшению другого, необходимо достичь правильного баланса между двумя полюсами, чтобы достичь гармонии.

Рис.1 Символ Инь Ян

Самое раннее подобие символа Инь Ян было найдено на останках различных животных, используемых в Китае для гадания и служило простым указателем природных явлений (Инь символизировал ночь или отсутствие солнечного света; Ян представлял день, или отсутствие тьмы). Эти кости оракула использовались, по крайней мере, еще в XIV веке до нашей эры. Однако, самое раннее свидетельство символа Инь Ян, которое дошло до нас в том виде, в котором мы его знаем, датируется III веком до нашей эры.

Вслед за символизмом, философия Инь Ян, впервые появился во времена династии Хань и в действительности вошла в обиход во время династии Чжоу, когда Инь Ян стали связывать с понятием Ци — жизненной энергий. По сути, Инь Ян, стало представлять сложную двойственность жизни и первостепенную потребность в равновесии и умеренности. Этим метафизическим мировоззрением, пользовались не только китайские философы, такие как Конфуций и Лао Цзы для формирования собственных религиозно-философских учений, а и буддисты, ведантисты, йогины и врачи традиционной китайской медицины.

И не смотря на возрастающее количество значений и понятий, созданных с течением времени, символ Инь Ян по праву остается основополагающим и всеобъемлющим.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш адрес email не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *